Skip to main content

Explorer Scouts

Explorer Scouts are young people, usually aged between 14 and 18 years old. They make up the fourth section of the Scouting family after Beavers, Cubs and Scouts.

A group of Explorer Scouts is called a Unit.
Not all Units meet every week, partly due to activities, holidays, exams and the other commitments that crop up in a teenager's life, and also because Explorers tend to get out and about at weekends more often than other sections.

Explorer Scouts often get the chance to work with other Explorer Scouts in their District, not just their own Unit, so can take part in an even wider spectrum of activities.

There is also a range of ambitious badges and awards, through which Explorers can demonstrate their proficiencies and expand their interests.

Explorers are the fourth section of the Scouting movement. Right from the time of Baden-Powell, there have been arrangements for young people who wanted to continue after their time in the Scout Section.

Scouts is an inclusive, values based movement and membership is open to all those who share our fundamental values. Scouting is designed to be flexible to support all young people to take part, achieve and reach their full potential. When joining a Section, Beavers, Cubs, Scouts or Explorers, the young person should be encouraged to progress through Scouting with their peers. Scout groups will make reasonable adjustments and work in partnership with parents and carers to identify young people's needs and plan support strategies.

Who to contact



Where to go


Other Details


Age Ranges
From: 14 years old
To: 18 years old

Last updated 28/02/2023